
Qualifiers and Disqualifiers 

The following is a list of automatic disqualifiers and/or possible 
disqualifiers for the position of Police Trainee:   
If you have questions regarding whether or not these disqualifiers apply to 
you,  
Contact the Wichita Falls Police Department Training Unit at (940) 720-5059. 

• Applicant must be at least twenty-one (21) years of age at the time of 
TCOLE licensing exam and not more than forty-four (44) years of age at 
the time of hire.

• * Applicant fails to meet the Minimum Standards for Initial Licensure as set 
forth by the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Officer Standards 
and Education (TCOLE)

• Does not possess a High School Diploma or equivalent certificate with 12 
hours college credit @ 2.0 grade average or higher

• * Not a Citizen of the Unites States of America by birth or naturalization.

• Applicant fails to make application in the manner prescribed and/or fails to 
file applications in a timely manner.

• Applicant fails to demonstrate the ability to read, write and speak English.

• Applicant unable to perform essential functions of the position.

• Any conviction of a Class A or higher offense or the equivalent under 
UCMJ.

• * Any conviction of a Class B offense or higher within the last 10 years.

• Intentionally providing false information related to the selection process.

• Applicant fails to complete or satisfactorily meet the employment process 
requirements.

• Applicant fails to satisfactorily complete oral interview process.



 

•••• Unlawful consumption of Marijuana within the past two years. 
 

•••• Unlawful consumption of any Texas Health and Safety Code, Penalty 
Group I & II drugs. 

 

•••• Unlawful consumption of any Texas Health and Safety Code, Penalty 
Group III, IV & V drugs in the past 10 years. 

 

•••• Unlawful consumption or admission to abuse of prescription medications. 
 

•••• Admitted use of any substance which constitutes a felony grade 
substance as described by the Texas Penal Code. 

 

•••• Failure to maintain a valid driver’s license. 
 

•••• Applicant has a conviction of DWI/BWI/FWI/DUI or reckless driving within 
the past (10) years. Driving violations that exceed four (4) events (moving 
violations or preventable accidents) within the past three (3) years. 

 

•••• Applicant has been dismissed or resigned in lieu or dismissal from any 
employment for inefficiency, delinquency or misconduct. 

 

•••• Applicant has demonstrated a failure to pay just debts. 
 

•••• Applicant has demonstrated poor judgment skills in the past (5) years. 
 

•••• Applicant has an unstable work history. 
 

•••• * Discharged from any military service under less than honorable 
conditions, including: Under other than honorable conditions, Bad conduct, 
Dishonorable, General Discharge, or any other characterization including 
bad character. 

 

•••• Applicant fails to return Personal History Statement in a timely manner. 
 

•••• Applicant admits to polygraph examiner information that would disqualify 
applicant or fails polygraph test. 

 

•••• Applicant fails any part of the background investigation. 
 

*TCOLE Automatic Disqualifiers 
 


