Historic Preservation

The City of Wichita Falls is recognized by the Texas Historical Commission as a Certified Local Government (CLG) based on its historic preservation program. A local landmark or historic district designation is our City’s official acknowledgment of properties significant in Wichita Falls’ history, culture, architecture, and archaeology. Designation is more, however, than just a recognition of significance; it denotes that the property is especially worthy of protection and preservation. The City has developed a Historic Preservation Ordinance along with accompanying procedural documents to provide both recognition and protection of our historic resources. The following links will guide you through the process of nominating either an individual landmark or residential historic district along with the nomination forms. The City Planning Division works closely with the Landmark Commission, a group of citizens appointed by the City Council, that ensures the provisions of the Historic Preservation Ordinance and Design Review Guidelines are upheld.           

Designated Landmarks

Design Review Application

Design Review Guidelines

Historic District Nomination Form

Historic Preservation Ordinance

Landmark Commission Meeting Agenda  

Historic Preservation Overview

Landmark Nomination Form

Nomination Procedures

Landmark Commission 2023 Meeting Schedule

10 Train Depot.jpg